Thankful for my Pitch Crit Crew

So a few months ago I entered a writing contest. Alas, I didn’t proceed to go, however, I received something waaay more valuable in return. A real writing group. A gaggle of writerly friends who are in the trenches along with me, and I am so very happy to have them around.

It makes it a million times more bearable to share joy and pain with people who have felt what you are feeling. While your loved ones might feel bad with you, they don’t know *exactly* ya know? But the crew does. Their empathy is real. Their happiness at a request is your happiness. Their elation at a signing with an agent is your elation.Their sadness at your pain in a rejection is what build your heart up that much stronger.

As a stay-at-home mom, over the years I’ve lost contact with a lot of my “real” friends. I used to be a social butterfly, but except on the odd occasion rarely do I get out anymore, and when I do with my friends it’s not spent talking about writing hehe or if I do it’s for a coveted date with my mister. And while he supports my writing 100% I see his eyes glaze and that’s totally cool too 🙂

Because of this writer group I really feel like I have a connection again. I’ve even had the chance to meet one of the badasses in person at a writing conference so far and that was beyond awesomeness. From the moment I sat down at the bar it felt like I had known her for years. There was no awkward silences, and we laughed into the wee hours of the night.

The best part is, the crew gets it. All of it. And we don’t judge.

The worst part is we all live so far away, cause dang it, it would be beyond fantastic to have a weekly coffee and writing get together with them. But I’ll take what I can get, and be thankful every day for the bonds we are all  building.

giphy (11) giphy (21)

and I’ll share a drink with ya anytime 😉giphy (7)

Thanks you guys.  You keep me motivated and I’m so happy to be one of you!

You down with PCC? Yeah you know me!

2 thoughts on “Thankful for my Pitch Crit Crew

    • it really is. I find in those moments where you want to scream or bang your head against a wall, finding those people and being able to rant is such a blessing. Alternatively, being able to be there for someone else so they can do the same thing until they feel better always makes me feel so helpful too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

