“What’s in a name? Well Juliet, I’ve figured that one out for you!

That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. As one should think… right? Well I guess our lovely health insurance companies do not necessarily feel the same. I was put on a new medication recently that I was supposed to pick up today. Now the side effects are rather grim in some cases, so naively I asked the pharmacy if I could get the name brand of said prescription. They said of course, and they would be happy to oblige. So there I am, happy in my security of full health benefits, thinking at the very most it would be only a few extra dollars than my normal copay.

I pull up to the drive-thru, happy to be embarking on a journey that could help me feel healthier soon and tell them my name and birthdate, not really paying attention when I hear a price that makes me do a double take, mouth dropped open into stunned silence. Once I find my voice I squeak, “Could you please repeat that?” Surely I must have misunderstood.

Alas, my ears were working and what should normally be only $10 was turned into $260. Yes, a $260 copay. For name brand, non generic medicine. now if I may impart the difference between the two…

A generic drug is the same as a brandname drug in dosage, safety, strength, quality, the way it works, the way it is taken and the way it should be used. FDA requires generic drugs have the same high quality, strength, purity and stability as brandname drugs. Not everybrandname drug has a generic drug

yes, the description states it is the SAME. HA!

I hate to tell you Juliet, but no, That which we call a rose by any other name does not smell as sweet, in fact, it smells an awful lot like bullshit.

Looks like I will be sticking to the generic, I mean it’s all the same anyway… right?

Leave a Reply

